Life Sciences Librarian
Anna Yang
she/her/hers
Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Studies, Physics, Public Health Science, Science
Physics Library Resources
Physics Library Resources
Image Credits, left to right: NASA, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Brookhaven National Laboratory, University of Minnesota Supercomputing Institute
University libraries use the Library of Congress classification system rather than the Dewey Decimal classification system.
Below are the most common call number areas for books about Physics and related subjects.
| Call Number | Subject Area |
| QB1 - QB999 | Astronomy |
| QB460 - QB465 | Astrophysics |
| QB520 - QB540 | Sun (solar physics) |
| QC1 - QC999 | Physics |
| QC170 - QC197 | Atomic Physics |
| QC176 - QC177 | Solid State Physics |
| QC220 - QC246 | Acoustics, sound |
| QC251 - QC338 | Heat |
| QC350 - QC467 | Optics, light |
| QC450 - QC454 | Spectroscopy |
| QC474 - QC496 | Radiation Physics |
| QC501 - QC766 | Electricity & Magnetism |
| QC717.5 - QC718.8 | Plasma Physics |
| QC770 - QC798 | Nuclear & Particle Physics |
| QC801 - QC809 | Geophysics, cosmic physics |
| QC811 - QC849 | Geomagnetism |
| QC851 - QC999 | Meteorology, climatology |
| TK7800 - TK8360 | Electronics |
| TK7857 - TK7871 | Electronic Circuits |
| TK7871.85 - TK7874.5 | Semiconductors, microelectronics |
Physics Databases (via Library Subscription)
- American Institute of Physics (AIP) Publications This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to articles. books, and conference proceedings covering physics, astronomy, and related fields of science and technology.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to a vast collection of abstracts to scientific literature, conference proceedings, technical reports, and patents covering all engineering disciplines. It combines the results from both Compendex and Inspec.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowThis database provides articles and conference proceedings related to physics, electronics, computing, control engineering, and information technology from 1896 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to images and the full text of articles in back issues of selected scholarly journals related to the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to reviews and citations presented in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Coverage starts in 1940 till the present.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThis database provides technical and business videos, case studies, interactive tutorials, audiobooks, self-paced courses, and playlists from more than 200 publishers. Updated quarterly.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowThis database abstracts articles focused on science, technology, medicine, and business from 1995 to present.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to abstracts, articles, conference proceedings, data sets and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Other Databases with Physics Information (via Library Subscription)
- Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ's mission is to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography or language.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text access to a collection of research papers, conference proceedings, and technical standards in engineering and technology, with diverse topics including electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and telecommunications.
- Inspec Analytics This link opens in a new windowThis tool allows you to explore research trends and patterns, monitor research output, and benchmark collaborators and competitors related physics and engineering.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to reviews and citations presented in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Coverage starts in 1940 till the present.
Suggested Journals (via Library Subscription)
- American Journal of PhysicsThe mission of the American Journal of Physics (AJP) is to publish articles on the educational and cultural aspects of physics that are useful, interesting, and accessible to a diverse audience of physics students, educators, and researchers
- Nature PhysicsIn addition to publishing primary research, Nature Physics serves as a central source for top-quality information for the Physics community through review articles, news & views, research highlights on important developments published throughout the Physics literature, commentaries, book reviews, and correspondence.
- Physical Review LettersPhysical Review Letters has published seminal research by Nobel Prize winners and other distinguished researchers in all fields of physics.
- ScienceScience is published by the American Association for the Advancement o Science (AAAS), publishing to help fulfill the mission to "advance science and serve society" by communicating the value of science to the public, helping governments formulate science policy, promoting advancements in science education and diversity, and helping scientists develop their careers.